I’ve always loved books. Books have nurtured my childhood as much as my parents and the grown-ups around me did. It’s a big deal when I say this because I belong to a state where the intellectual way to live is through being a ‘foodie’, and books aren’t exactly something you brag about at any stage in your life. A Gujarati child being into books outside of academic coursework is a ‘waste of money’, if you’re an adolescent and like to spend time reading books you’re trying to impress others, especially elders, and if you’re older and still reading books, you probably don’t have enough friends.

I may be exaggerating a bit but growing up Gujarati is fraught with peculiarities, but I’ll keep these for later. This blog is primarily about books. It’s going to be an ongoing comment on my journey with my books. This is a precious one, for I feel we don’t pick books, books pick us 🙂

Currently reading: The Sellout by Paul Beatty 

As well as, Deep Work by Cal Newport

post

Leave a Reply

